What do you do when one of your guests is lactose intolerant and the dessert you made requires caramel sauce? You improvise to make everyone happy and use this recipe for Vegan Caramel Sauce.
How to make a Vegan Caramel Sauce.
My friends suddenly decided to visit and I was so happy to have them over, after all, it’s been a long time since I gossiped! Like a good host I ran to the kitchen to make few appetizers and a dessert, luckily, the dessert didn’t have any dairy product in it, but it needed a caramel sauce.
I was about to open the heavy cream container, when my friend called again and said, “Please don’t make anything special, tea will be fine, our friend is lactose intolerant, she may not be able to eat everything you are planning to make.”
I want all my friends and my new guest to enjoy my food, so I asked uncle google to find me a dairy free caramel sauce. Most of the recipes called for ingredients I didn’t have at home.
Giving up on uncle google, I decided to come up with a recipe and prayed for it to work. To my surprise, the recipe was a success (for a vegan caramel sauce). Everyone enjoyed the dessert and the vegan caramel sauce.
To be honest, the Vegan Caramel Sauce does not taste like a caramel sauce made from cream of course, but it went well with dessert and has fewer calories.
Since I have used cornstarch to achieve the glossy and creamy texture, it is better to use the sauce the same day, refrigerating it will not bring any change to the taste but the texture will not be as smooth.
, and if you happen to make any of my recipes, please post the picture and mention me in your post, or use this hashtag #Arinacooking. I would love to see your creation.
As for my recipe, here you go!